Well That Was a Sleepless Night

30 May

I got 2 hours of sleep on the plane ride.  Came to my host house, took a shower, dressed, went to the Goethe Insitut to register, came back and CRASHED.  For 4 hours.  Woke up at 7, watched a French movie dubbed over in German – so I sure as shit did not understand it at all – went back to bed at 10 and woke up at 3:30am.  Woke up.  Just damn woke up.  I think I finally fell back asleep around 5am.  It gets bright EARLY here.  I think the sun was rising around 5am.  Just like at the dig.

Anyway, my host person/mother/lady is this adorable Finnish woman who is married and has been here for 40 years.  I have yet to figure out why her husband lives in another apartment a few blocks away, but I SUSPECT…she really misses having her kids here.  She hosts students every day of the year.  She has fed me cheesecake – which I am not supposed to have, but politely ate half.  She made me coffee, which I thought I told her I don’t drink…but look who drinks coffee now!  She made a whole pot.  A WHOLE POT. Dear lord.  She is super sweet, just so nice and wonderful.  I think she is an artist.  She went to a studio this morning, and she has a ton of paintings everywhere, so that’s my conclusion.  She does have kids and grandkids.

She lives in this gorgeous old apartment building.  It must have been resurfaced sometime in the 60s (hopefully my architect friends will tell me), but retains some details which have to be turn of the century.  She seems not to know.  I will post pictures here and hope Dave or Fed or anyone else will read this and let me know.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Response to “Well That Was a Sleepless Night”

  1. the donut June 1, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    this time of year, the sun is rising about 5am in Jersey, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

