The Processional Song; or, Why My Fiance Does Not Want to Let Me Choose the Music

5 May

One word:

Papparazzi

“I’m your biggest fan, I’ll follow you until you looooooooooooove me!  Papa-paparazzi!”

Jonathan says it is creepy.

What about Cake?  Short Skirt, Long Jacket?  Italian Leather Sofa?

Seriously, let’s go back to Lady Gaga.  Jonathan says if we play that, we may as well play “Every Breath You Take” which is a staler song (so says the fiance).  I like them both.  Maybe I’m a stalker.

Here’s the deal: I want something, fun, bouncy, maybe a little irreverent.  We won’t be dancing down the aisle.  We’ll leave that to these guys and the wife beater, Chris Brown (gotta admit, I do love this tune):

I mean, Jonathan would rather die than dance down the aisle and they prove it’s been done already.  Plus we have no attendants (well, one a piece).

I am trying to find a song that is a) not creepy and b) not totally inappropriate.  I find a song that I love, I hum along, then I finally listen to the lyrics.  Like this one:

It start out ok…
“I never thought I’d be in love like this
When I look at you my mind goes on a trip
And you came in and knocked me on my face
Feels like in I’m a race
but I already won first place”

then we get to:
“So I wrote this love letter right before my classes
I coulda got his @ss, someone that’s only average
For advice OMG you listen to that b!tch?
Woe is me baby this is tragic
Cause we had it, we was magic
I was flyin, now I’m crashin”

Plus I think Jonathan would hate it. So…what about this one?

Postal Service wrote “Such Great Heights” but it has been covered by everyone.

Lyrics are:
“I am thinking it’s a sign that the freckles
In our eyes are mirror images and when
We kiss they’re perfectly aligned
And I have to speculate that God himself
Did make us into corresponding shapes like
Puzzle pieces from the clay
True, it may seem like a stretch, but
Its thoughts like this that catch my troubled
Head when you’re away when I am missing you to death
When you are out there on the road for
Several weeks of shows and when you scan
The radio, I hope this song will guide you home

They will see us waving from such great
Heights, ‘come down now,’ they’ll say
But everything looks perfect from far away,
‘come down now,’ but we’ll stay…

I tried my best to leave this all on your
Machine but the persistent beat it sounded
Thin upon listening
That frankly will not fly. you will hear
The shrillest highs and lowest lows with
The windows down when this is guiding you home”

I like the Iron and Wine version…

I am just not very interested in processing to classical.  I thought about opera, but all I could really think of was maybe “Porgi Amor” or “O Mio Babbino Caro” which are sort of dramatic.

There is this one, which I also really like:

Jonathan and I have rather…disparate music tastes.  Mine head towards U2, The Beatles, Cake, Modest Mouse and Pop music.  Jonathan likes Bad Religion, some band called…wait…Manowar? and Muse (who?).  So this should be a challenge.

I am sure we’ll find something.  I am still aiming for “Paparazzi”, but I imagine I will lose that fight.

5 Responses to “The Processional Song; or, Why My Fiance Does Not Want to Let Me Choose the Music”

  1. Dese'Rae L. Stage May 6, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    take a listen to jens lekman – your arms around me. i want terribly to play it at our wedding. katie doesn't agree.also: a little late on the blogging today, are we?

  2. Disoriented Nomad May 6, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Yes, Des, we are late. I was having my vagina scraped in several places and not by Jonathan. By a professional vagina scraper. Something about Coloscopy or colonoscopy or colposcopy. Whatever it was, it sucked!

  3. Disoriented Nomad May 6, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    PS Love the Jens Lenkman! Jonathan said "What the fuck? That is really weird."

  4. Dese'Rae L. Stage May 6, 2010 at 2:00 am #

    man. vagina scraping. AT LEAST YOU HAVE PRIORITIES. i guess.also: that song is so fucking awesome. it sounds all sweet and happy and then you REALLY listen and you're like wtf?

  5. Doria May 11, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    I love "Let's Never Stop Falling in Love" but it might be a little hard to rhumba (or is that a samba?) down the aisle. However, if you have a friend who plays guitar and sings (and/or another friend who sings), they could perform "Such Great Heights" in a way that would work as a processional. (I walked down the aisle to Chopin's Prelude 4 in E minor, which was arranged for guitar and flute by my then fiance — now, ex-husband)

Leave a Reply

