The Decor; or, I Like Lots of Things on the Walls…He Doesn’t

11 May

When I first met Jonathan, he didn’t have much hanging on the walls.  A few small posters and a HUGE Reservoir Dogs Poster.  I didn’t think much of it.

I have TONS on my walls.  Photography from friends and my own, paintings from friends and rugs and textiles.  Huge rugs and textiles from everywhere.  See, I travel a LOT.  And my family and friends travel.  I view textiles as an indigenous art form of that specific country.  I am mostly speaking of Middle Eastern and Latin American countries.  I have never come home with a hand woven rug from London, because they probably shipped it in from Morocco.  I have two large ‘tablecloths’ woven from silk from Syria.  A large cloth from Jaffa, some long woven colorful thing from Ethiopia…you get the picture.

When we moved in, I began planning where all this would go (MINUS Reservoir Dogs…I do NOT live in a frat house).  Jonathan balked.  I figured his lack of decoration was due to a) his being male and b) his lack of aesthetic sense.  Turns out…it is the ADD.  Things on the wall are distracting.  I said we could hang everything behind our heads…behind the couch, behind the desk…

It was a problem.  It wasn’t home for me without my things hanging.  My things hanging drove Jonathan crazy.  We fought.  He dragged his feet mounting things on the wall.  I pouted.  The scene wasn’t pretty.  I STILL have things under the bed in boxes and have posters and photos that need to be framed.  It never, not in a million years, occurred to me that hanging things on the WALL was going to be a big issue with our relationship.  I even encouraged Jonathan to hang more of his things, but he just couldn’t seem to do it.  My stuff overwhelmed him.  We still aren’t entirely there.  He wants to make me happy, and I don’t want to stress him, but some parts of our house seem sterile to me.  C’est la vie.

Our compromise has been that we have nothing hanging in our bedroom.

The problem is this: my parents brought back for me, from the West Bank, an antique, $500 “kilm” or rug hand woven by Bedouin women.  It sits in our closet.  It’s gonna have to go on the wall before April 30, 2011, even temporarily.

3 Responses to “The Decor; or, I Like Lots of Things on the Walls…He Doesn’t”

  1. Jonathan May 11, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Please note, that as per paragrah three, item "b" is inaccurate. I do indeed have an aesthetic sense. It just happens to have a minimalist bent.Though, I do not deny the point made after, I do have A.D. OH LOOK SOMETHING SHINY…

  2. Disoriented Nomad May 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    And scene.

  3. kaboom May 12, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    we have the nails on the walls to prove this blog true. =)

Leave a Reply

