The Picture; or, I Just Won a Contest…Free Engagement Photos

13 May

Ages ago, Jonathan and I had this great idea: we would take a good photos of us and, for our wedding website (which was going to be all satire) we would just Photoshop ourselves (badly) onto many other engagement photos of other people.  SATIRE!

One problem: we don’t have any good photos of us.  Jonathan HATES having his picture taken.  Having sat through umpteen headshot sessions myself, I am immune.  Jonathan is not.  I have SEVEN photos of a moment when friends came to town and we took some photos.  Why SEVEN?  HIS EYES ARE CLOSED IN EVERY SINGLE ONE.  It’s like a FRIGGIN MIRACLE!  The kind of damn miracle you don’t want and now I am THAT girl.  The one who says, “No, seriously, he is handsome, he just doesn’t do pictures.”

So, I read the Broke-Ass Bride, and, on a whim, I entered us in an engagement day photo competition.  I thought if, for 30 minutes, someone shot CONTINUOUS photos, we might MIGHT have one.  Our children are doomed to never have family photos.  SIGH.  I never actually thought we’d win, because I have to send in a photo of us and since Jonathan looks like he wants to die in all of them, it’s hard to find a good one.  SIGH.  So I entered us (yes, I hate the Wedding Industrial Complex, but who doesn’t like free shit?) and…we won?

WE WON!  Oh.  We won.  Oopsy 🙂

So this Saturday at 3:30pm I will take my very uncomfortable fiance to Central Park where, for 30 minutes, we will TRY TRY TRY to get ONE shot where Jonathan doesn’t look like he wants to throw up…or has his eyes closed..or looks annoyed.  Wish us luck.

PS.  The photographer looks pretty good.  Here’s to having a shot!

2 Responses to “The Picture; or, I Just Won a Contest…Free Engagement Photos”

  1. Deity in Disguise May 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Get him drunk!

  2. Jonathan May 13, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    that would just mean that there are reluctant pictures while uncoordinated.

Leave a Reply

