Guest Blogger: Wedding Hair

31 May

She’s back!  Too Beautylicious is here again with wedding hair.  I have to say, I do love this one.  I have seen more than one bride wear a hairstyle that is completely ridiculous for her.  I mean, I wore wet, gelled PINCURLS to bed so I could have ringlets for my sister’s wedding and I don’t even RESEMBLE myself!  In retrospect, it was one of the stupidest hair decisions ever made (I won’t even talk about the perms of my teenage years).  I love this blog post.  It is very practical.  Thanks TB!

Hello lovely blog followers.  So, last week we addressed makeup for the big day.  Today, let’s take on the beehive with the 2 romantic tendrils.  Or, as most people like to call it “Wedding Hair.”
I have absolutely no idea who decided back in the day that a wedding hairstyle had to be any of the following:
1.  Frozen in place
2.  Slapped on top of your head
3.  Incorporating absolutely ridiculous curls
4.  Painful
Much like your makeup, what look are you going for?  Natural?  Dramatic?  Elegant?  Look at your dress.  What is it saying?  Is there a part of your dress that you want to show off?  (i.e.- if the back of the dress is extremely detailed and gorgeous, you might want to wear all your hair up to show it off.)
Just like with your makeup, if you have an idea about what you want for your hairstyle, FIND PICTURES.  Even if it’s 2 or 3 pictures and you tell your stylist “I want the front to look like this picture and the back to look like this one.”  But no stylist, even my own absolute genius of a hair guru, can read minds.  So, the picture that is in your head might not end up on your head.  Do your research.
If you are going to do your own hair on your wedding day, then well done you.  I was not that brave.  Be sure to practice at least once if not twice.  I don’t know about you, but I feel like I can’t even do a ponytail the same way twice!  God forbid I plan to do my hair on what might be the most photographed day of my life, and screw it up.  So, the first time you practice, you’ll realize what you need to make your look happen- more bobby pins, more mousse, more hairspray, whatever.  That way, the next time you practice, you should have everything you need.  You can also get a good idea of how long this is going to take you. 
If you want someone else to do your hair, be sure to schedule a practice session with the stylist.  You may have him/her do the style and HATE it.  That’s where their expertise can work in your favorite.  They can make suggestions about alternate styles that would work.  Be sure to negotiate the cost of both the practice session and the real thing.  Notice I said “negotiate”.  Tell them what your budget is and ask if they can work with that.  Haggling is a lost art.  Revive it.
You can also go the cosmetology school route with this one as well.  Students need to learn how do style hair for weddings, proms, debuts, etc.  So, you can get a bargain if you are willing to be a little more patient and work with someone who is not quite as experienced.  Call and find out what all the school offers and how much things cost.  It never hurts to ask!
Don’t forget that adding things like flowers and beautiful clips or barrettes or bobby pins can take a very simple hair style to outstanding.  I had tiny flowers in my updo and it added this great texture and color.  Less is more in this area, however.  Don’t let what’s going on on your head fight with your dress.  The simpler your dress, the more elaborate you can make your hair decoration.  Right now, I am LOVING a single large flower behind an ear or some CZ bobby pins on the back of the head.
More than anything, don’t let anyone talk you into a hairstyle.  Just because it looked good in a magazine or on your cousin doesn’t mean that it’s going to work on you.  And remember that no stylist is a miracle worker.  Just because you want Keira Knightley’s hair, your extremely curly ‘do might not agree.  So be realistic in your choices. 
You can have the beautiful hair that you’ve always dreamed of.  You can do it on a budget.  You just have to be smart about it and take your time and do the work and you can have hair that everyone goes “Mmm!  I so want your hair!  Who did it??”
Leave a Reply

