Plates. And I Am A Dirty Hippy

16 Jul

Plates.

Wedding dishware/silverware, etc.  Everything at a wedding costs money.  If there is no one to wash your dishes (or no commercial kitchen) you have to rent more (double or triple) than the amount of guests you have invited.  Plates ain’t cheap.  They’re not too pricey, but to rent? Of course, even Martha Stewart has a way to get more creative…but it requires renting double the plates even before you had to rent double.  She’s not really helpful for poor people.

For a while, I really wanted to do something fun and mismatched like this:

I thought it would be great to have something ecelectic and eccentric (much like I am) and fun!  There were a few problems: a) my local Salvation Army/Goodwill/Thrift Store seems to run low on FUN plates and mostly has UGLY plates and b)each plate was a few cents more than renting.  Now, if you can manage this project, every plate you buy from a Goodwill or SA will be tax deductible and if you donate it again, it is tax deductible.  Your $1 plate nets you $0.50 in tax deductions!  WHEE!  But first you have to FIND 200 funky, fun awesome plates.

This crazy store here in the NE called “Christmas Tree Shops” has cheap, brightly colored plates for cheap.  Not too bad.  The cost savings isn’t as much, but it is still doable.

What about environmentally sound plates?  Cheaper, biodegradable…

Jonathan wants to see them before we commit.  Luckily, the nice people at Leafware have sent me samples.  I hope they’re not ugly, I hope they don’t have splinters and I hope we can make it work!

2 Responses to “Plates. And I Am A Dirty Hippy”

  1. Anne Lossing July 16, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Maybe you could really go eccentric and funky and have everyone bring their own fun place setting … you could offer prizes for the most original, prettiest, appropriate, garish, etc., and give them all to charity after the wedding.

    I must say, reading your blog has re-reminded me why we ran away and got married at the Little Chapel on the Strip!! And I didn’t even realize the HALF of what you need to deal with to hold a formal wedding!!

  2. oneofhismoms July 16, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    I read about one couple who found it was cheaper to buy all of the plates at Ikea, than to rent them. Not as funky, but a thought. I’ve seen the bamboo plates at the food coop. Not very hefty, but they are pretty.

Leave a Reply

