I Don’t Want Kids at Our Wedding

30 Jul

Selfish?  Probably.

Do I care?  not so much.

I have three nephews ages 1.5, 4 and 10.  They will be 2.5, 5 and 11 and a newborn by wedding time.  I like kids.  I vacillate about if I want them or not, but I do like them. Some weddings are very child appropriate.  Oddly enough, my sister’s wedding did not have kids there because there were no kids to be had.  No friends had kids, no siblings had kids and I liked it.  Twas kind of great!

This is what happened: Jonathan and I fell in love with Galapagos Art Space.  The space has this:

Know what that is?  Water.  Water underneath those tables.  Water that isn’t too deep (no idea) but water and railings not meant to hold much in.  The Galapagos is an amazing music/dance/cabaret venue.  Not a lot of kids go.  The space is not kid friendly.

Luckily, we don’t have a lot of issue with people bringing kids, aside from my siblings, and they already know.  My sister refers to it as the “baby pool of death” which it might be if kids were allowed to run around willy-nilly.  Our wedding is also going to be VERY adult.  Cocktail hour, ceremony, then dinner.  And THEN a cabaret, so the kids aren’t going to even WANT to be there that much.  So we will feed them food they will eat, have them upstairs with a few babysitters, and bring them downstairs for the ceremony.  That way there will be no whining children, and they can eat and play games and hang out all to themselves.  I did have to tell a friend who has two kids that the site is not child friendly and she didn’t blink.

Martha Stewart even says it is ok, and she knows all.

What’s the verdict?  Am I a baby hater or do you all have opinions on kids at weddings?

5 Responses to “I Don’t Want Kids at Our Wedding”

  1. Stacey July 30, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    We specified that we didn’t want children at our wedding (specifically excluded the childrens’ names on the invitations and spread the word around). We had a few family members that I know didn’t come because of that. Only one of our friends had children at the time and they didn’t seem to mind at all.

    When I asked my mother if she thought people would be offended if we specified no children, she said that she wouldn’t worry about it and many parents are happy to have a child-free night out.

    In those daydreaming planning stages before there is actually a wedding in sight I had very much wanted to arrange for child care for my friends and family at whatever our future hypothetical venue ended up being so they didn’t have to worry about sitters if they didn’t want to, but circumstance made that not possible. I think it’s a nice thing to do that makes people feel like you’re not excluding younger family members, but it could definitely be next-to-impossible for people who aren’t having their wedding and reception in a church.

  2. Celeste Silsby Mannerud July 30, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    I think your idea/plan sounds fabulous! I’ve never really seen a wedding where the kids really seemed to enjoy themselves past the first ten minutes of running and spinning on the dance floor, but with your plan it sounds like they would have fun the whole time in their own zone.

    Beautiful venue, by the way – just gorgeous!

  3. Kimmie D July 30, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    I don’t think you’re a baby hater at all. 1) Who wants to include a drowning in their wedding festivities? 2) The child-eating monster act in the cabaret is kind of a non-starter.

  4. Your Best Friend, Amanda August 6, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    It’s completely fine that you don’t want children at your wedding, especially as your venue is really safe for wee ones. We wouldn’t have any at ours if that was an option in my family.

  5. adina lav August 7, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    You’re not a baby hater. All this sounds like a blast and the kiddos will have their own kid-appropriate fun elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

