I Miss My Grandfather, Which Is Why I Sometimes Balk at Having Kids

9 Aug

Not entirely.  But let me explain.

Like most kids, or several kids, I grew up with 4 grandparents.  2 on each side.  My dad’s parents were sweet people (although, arguably, my grandfather on that side was better at being a grandfather than a dad).  My dad’s mom was rather frail and ill, so we usually were pretty quiet and reserved.  We read, a lot.  Mimi had mostly romance novels, so by the time I was 13 I knew all the ‘romantic’ ways sex could happen…but nothing that was actually true.  My grandfather was mostly in his workshop, where he watched tv and made stuff.  So I didn’t know them very well.  We spend 3 days to a week there every summer (without my dad, who was working).  My mo would pack us up in the car or on a plane and we would fly from Tampa to Houston, get picked up in Houston and drive to Tyler.  A week later, we would board a plane in Houston and either make a hop in Dallas or head straight out to Midland/Odessa where my mom’s dad would pick us up and drive us to Rankin.

My mom’s dad was…legendary.  To me, anyway.  He was a cowboy.  A REAL cowboy.  He didn’t wear cowboy hats for fashion or cowboy boots to be ironic.  He drove cattle and owned a ranch and smoked filterless cigarettes.  He could ride a horse backward, I would imagine, and he called “lunch” the meal you packed in a bag and hung off the horn of your saddle.

He was 80 when I was born.  He was 40 when my mom was born and she was 40 when I was born…you get the drift.  He was OLD when I was able to remember him.  My grandmother had already had a stroke and was living in a facility, so my memories of her are rare and fleeting.  But I remember my grandaddy.  Oh, I do remember him.  I remember his smell, the way he walked, his laugh.  He died at a good age, 93, and I was about to turn 13.  I have lived longer without my grandfather than I have lived with him.

I was at the grocery store, and I saw this grandfather and his 3 grandkids.  I was irrationally jealous.  Part of me is angry that my parents had me so late.  Angry that my sisters and brother remember him (remember ALL of them) better than I ever will.  Angry that my relationship with him was so short and, now, mostly in my head.  Would I trade it for the world?  No.  But he never saw me go to high school, never saw me go to college, never met my fiance.  For me, there is a huge hole in my life where he should be.

So I balk at having kids knowing my own parents are not young.  It is a little irrational, yes, but my heart breaks every time I think of him and I don’t want to do that to them.  As I once told my mom, “You’ll be dead, you won’t miss my kids.  But my kids will miss you, and that hole is huge and sometimes very hard to bear”.

I always tell my parents, when a pet dies, that having had the pet is better than having no pet at all.  I DO believe this, but the days when I grieve, so acutely, for a man whom I last saw 20 years ago, I don’t believe it.  Yes, OF COURSE, I am better for knowing him.  My memories of him are fun and sweet, but…like I said, the pain of his passing (which, let’s be realistic, at 93 is fine)…sometimes the pain of his passing is too much to bear to pass that on to my own.

Leave a Reply

