Going Green Like Kermit

20 Oct

Well, not quite like Kermit.

As I have said before, tons of times, Jonathan and I are really trying to have a green wedding.  Well, I am trying to have a green wedding, Jonathan is along for the ride.

We chose Galapagos Art Space as our venue, which is in the process of trying to get LEED Certified.  The nice thing is that their interior has lovely little tea lights, so we won’t need flowers.  I am pretty opposed to flowers anyway, as you may remember from my previous post where I want to make my bouquet out of copper wire.

Up for grabs are the notions of green utensils.  To Jonathan’s credit, he has tried all the bamboo utensils I have ordered, but we haven’t found any that are right.  We are also toying with the idea of purchasing SUPER cheap plates and then washing and donating them to Goodwill.  Plates, dishes, utensils…minds are not yet made up.

Our “Save the Date” was a video.  We also intend to save paper, ink and stamps by sending out a simple invite with no RSVP card, but rather a phone number (thanks Google Voice!) or a link to an online RSVP (thanks Google Docs!).

Our two registries are entirely electronic.  One is for charity, courtesy of the I Do Foundation, and the other is for our honeymoon, so we’re basically collecting cash.

I am not sure how much greener we can get…probably only by eloping, but we all know that will only happen in my dreams.

Any other ways I can go green?

4 Responses to “Going Green Like Kermit”

  1. Dana Brooks October 20, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    I love Galapagos art space! That was one of my first picks!

  2. Jonathan October 21, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    I am a fan of appropriate greenness. It fits in quite well with my severely capitalist nature.

  3. Jeremy October 21, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    We got all our plates etc from second hand stores. Then we donate them back to those stores, or friends who need more plates etc. Worked out well I think.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Going Green Like Kermit « Strange Bride, Strange Wedding -- Topsy.com - October 21, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joanna Strange, Joanna Strange. Joanna Strange said: Going Green Like Kermit: http://wp.me/pZsJm-77 #greenwedding #diywedding #marthawedding #cheapwedding […]

Leave a Reply

