Dresses: Part 14 Bajillion

7 Feb

I feel like that’s how many times I have written about this dress.  Let’s see: here, here, and here…oh and here.

So, to recap: I fell in love with a dress, it was pricey and needed some changes.  I asked a friend, she said yes, then she ran out of time.  I looked around, it was gonna cost me tons, I found some alternatives.

Jonathan LOVES Ikea Pax Wardrobes.  Feeds his OCD, I guess.  We looked at them in Ikea.  You want $1000?  HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!  So I looked around online (I SWEAR this is related) and found TWO for sale for $400 total, but she’ll take $350.  They’re down in a loft in TriBeCa (3rd floor walkup…but with the height of the ceilings its really a 5th floor).  We go down to pick up and VOILA!  We’re buying them from a CLOTHING designer.

Guess who is going to work with the original dress to design something wearable and cheap?  Oh yeah, that’s right.  A clothing designer (who has to remain nameless).  She has a gorgeous line and is worn by some rather well known people, but, and this is fair, she doesn’t want it to get out that she made a dress for under $700 when all her dresses retail for $5000 or more.  Nor that she DESIGNED a dress for a pleeb.

So it won’t be my dress, the one I wanted, but it will be a completely unique dress, one no one has ever seen or bought and one that can never BE bought.

So that’s nice.

Leave a Reply

