Viktor Luna Makes Punk Clothing…and My Wedding Dress

11 Apr

So we all know I had a wedding dress crisis…and a guy at work called a friend who is a fashion designer.  Viktor is this little, adorable gay man who makes outrageous fashions, but, BONUS, he tends to use “normal” sized models (in this world, that means a size 2 or 4).  He also makes clothes for friends and once adapted a Alexander McQueen for a sized 14 woman.  So, there is a possibility he gets it.

I went to see him, he already had a sketch done, we chatted.  He told me he would get a swatch the next day and call me.  I was so hopeful, but so reserved.  This wedding dress thing has been a fiasco from the beginning, so I wasn’t holding my breath.  He called.  The next day.  He had 5 swatches.  I saw him two days later.  He told me he would have a muslin mock-up done by Friday (this past Friday).  Ok.  Wasn’t holding my breath.  He called me Wednesday.  He was done.  Did I want to see it Thurs or Fri?  I still went Fri, took a good friend with me.  She loves it.  (I had a hard time envisioning it since it was muslin).

It will be done by April 20.  That will be a final fitting.

Check him out, www.viktorluna.com

He is great, so sweet and, what I LOVE, is that he knows I can’t pay much, but a client is a client.  Period.  So he just does it (which was the opposite relationship I had with my OTHER designer).

Here are the pics of my fitting…good on you if you can imagine it better than I.

We adjusted the neckline.  This is a little TOO modest…and not flattering.

This is more like it.  The bottom will be less fishtail, and start higher.  The color will be blue and there will be white in the cutouts.  It will also have a raw neckline.

2 Responses to “Viktor Luna Makes Punk Clothing…and My Wedding Dress”

  1. Anne Lossing April 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I LOVE IT!!!

  2. Dani Phoenix April 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

