Thanksgiving Thanks

25 Nov

Jonathan and I busted our butts for Thanksgiving.  We were up until 2am Wed night.  He was cleaning, I was making pies and prepping vegetables for the next day.  We collapsed, exhausted, and woke up this morning to continue cooking.

I have no idea why we were so ambitious, it was just the two of us, but the food was excellent.  In the middle of the day I called my nephew, Nathaniel.  I miss him terribly and he said, “I’m gonna play with you Sunday” which utterly broke my heart.  He is not going to see me Sunday and my trip I had planned to LA had to be canceled.  I admit, I cried.  I miss him so much.  Then I called my niece, whom I have not spoken to in ages.  She is 20 and a Junior in college, so she has much cooler things to do than talk to me, but we chatted for a long time.  I miss her a bunch too.

I am thankful, this Thanksgiving, that I have family to miss so much.  While being away from them is hard, it is nice to miss them, to have people to miss.  I miss my nephews and niece more than my siblings, probably because I am used to being away form my siblings, but I feel like I am missing so much with my young nephews.  I am missing so much of their lives.  I was lucky to live in the same town as my niece when she was young and in high school, so I feel like we have connected well.

Anyway, I am thankful for my family and my husband, my new family.  I love this holiday.  Now I must go sleep.

Leave a Reply

