How Food Choices Have Changed

8 Apr

So yesterday I wrote this, It’s Been Too Long!  New Post!, about my new doctor and stuff blah blah.  When I told my family, because insulin resistance is genetic and if I were a betting person I’d say it comes from my dad’s side of the family, when I told…wait, that is a run on, or some other hideous form.  Let me start over.

I bet insulin resistance comes from my dad’s side of the family (sentence 1).  When I told my family, my sister-in-law asked how I was doing things differently (sentence 2). (I am prepping to write several papers for my grad classes, may as well prep here!).

Now, as I said yesterday, I ate pretty healthy before.  Luckily, I kept a food journal so here is a before and after picture:

BEFORE:
Breakfast: one cup of regular Cheerios and Skim Milk
Snack: Orange or grapefruit
Lunch: Salad or a side of veggies and a serving (we have these nifty serving containers) of something like: pasta or stir fry veggies and rice or Shepherd’s Pie or Lentils and Sausage)
Snack: apple
Snack: hummus and carrots or celery
Dinner: Something else from the list above or a half sandwich and lemonade from Pret-a-Manger
Dessert: Skinny Cow Ice Cream Sandwich (not always, sometimes just sleep for dessert)

Now the daily caloric intake is based on 2000 calories…for people who do not live in NYC.  I live in NYC and I walk…A LOT.  At least 2 miles per day for commuting (to and from trains) much of that up and down stairs or (my favorite) walking the 1/3 mile uphill (30 degree incline) to get to my train.  And I work in a 4th floor walkup.  That list hovers around 1700 (sometimes less).  But if you LOOK at that list, the things I cannot eat because of carbs and sugar are…

Breakfast: none – Cheerios is wheat (banned), corn starch (banned), SUGAR (banned) and the milk is sugar, even though it is skim
Snack: Orange or Grapefruit (banned)
Lunch: Salad (fine), Pasta (banned unless spelt), stir fry veggies (fine) and rice (banned), Shepherd’s pie (banned for potatoes), lentils and sausage (fine)
Snack: Hummus (fine) and carrots (banned) or celery (fine)
Dinner: One of the lunch menu items (most are banned) or a sandwich (banned) and Lemonade (banned)
Dessert: Skinny Cow (banned – and only 110 calories – BOOO!)

The list of foods I CANNOT have puts me well within my caloric intake range to lose weight, but all of them are very bad for me and my body.  My menu is mostly things I should not have at all.

Here is what my meals look like now:
Breakfast: Smoothie with 1.5 cups of almond milk (unsweetened), frozen strawberries (berries are not banned) and sometimes (not always) ZSweet.  On the weekends I have bacon, eggs and Spelt toast.
Snack: hard boiled egg
Snack: Plum (plums, apricots and peaches are not banned)
Lunch: Lentils and Sausage or Stir Fry Veggies with Quorn nuggets (the naked cutlets have wheat) or tacos, minus the taco shell (bought from a restaurant) or chili and beans
Snack: Hummus and celery
Snack: Roasted almonds
Dinner: something from above

The list is pretty different.  We think of things like rice and pasta easy ways to pad our lunches, but this is a big mistake.  Eating smaller meals more frequently is the best.  Breakfast is at 8:30am and my first snack is at 10:30am with my second around 11:30am.  I start my lunch around 12:30 with a salad. I eat my entree around 1:30pm and my snack around 3pm.  My dinner (if it needs to be heated) right before class around 5:30 and I have my snack during break in class around 7:30.  I try not to wait until I am starving to do any of this, or my blood sugar freaks out, I get tired and cranky and I eat all my foods at once.  I did that yesterday.  I ate too little (I was painting our new place) and by the time I had my late lunch I was light headed and unable to focus.  Then I crashed.  Boo.

Anyway, this is how life is changing for me.  We are trying to figure out new ways to do things every day.  Sometimes I get super frustrated and think, “if I have to eat ONE MORE FUCKING BOILED EGG” and then I remember that I have only been doing this for a few weeks and I have yet to explore all the possibilities.

On a side note, because yesterday a dietician read my blog, I want to say that nutritionists need to do more than absorb what they read in school.  As I learned, I was eating very healthy, but EVERYTHING I ate was wrong for me and all my nutritionist could say was “well you MUST be leaving something out” or “maybe we just need to cut you down to 1200 calories a day.”  1200 a day?  While I am in grad school and need my brain to function?  This is your solution?  No matter how many times I said, “could it be what I am eating? Do I need carbs?” she would always say, “of COURSE you need carbs, not a lot, but everyone needs some carbs”  No we don’t.  Not unless we’re running marathons and even then…I have a friend who is totally Paleo AND she teaches Cross-fit.  She doesn’t need extra carbs for energy.  Carbs are found naturally in vegetables, we don’t need to load ourselves down with pasta and bread because we hit the gym for 30 minutes 3x a week.  Fable. Total fable.

Anyway, this is an interesting journey.  And I get pissy and angry and Jonathan just reminds me that we can do this, it will be fine.  If I didn’t have him I would have given up (although, ironically, I may not be in this place since he is such a carb hound – but WITHOUT the problem, I would have gone my whole life just being tired).

Leave a Reply

